Philipp Frericks won FBTI award for best bachelor thesis

Philipp Frericks’ bachelor thesis on “GPU-Implementation of a bi-directional path tracer” (original German title: “Implementierung eines bidirektionalen Path Tracers auf GPUs”) won the award for best bachelor thesis.

The award was granted during the 34th “Fachbereichstag Informatik” on 20 October 2014 in Dortmund. The “Fachbereichstag Informatik” represents over 60 departments and faculties of computer sience in universities of applied sciences.


Oliver Jato won AFCEA Studienpreis award

Oliver Jato won third in the AFCEA Studienpreis awards for his Master thesis on rendering large volume datasets with CUDA (German title: Rendering großer Volumendatensätze mit CUDA).

The prize was granted at the Koblenzer IT-Tagung 2014, a conference in Koblenz on 4 September 2014 in the Rhein-Mosel-Halle which more than 300 participants have visited.

His work was supervised by Prof. Dr. André Hinkenjann (Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University, department of computer science).


Three IVC Members Have Been Awarded a Scholarship

Katharina Stollenwerk, Jens Maiero and Thorsten Roth are the three IVC members among a total of eight doctoral candidates from H-BRS who have been awarded a scholarship for their PhD project.

Katharina Stollenwerk works on two-handed interaction in virtual environments in cooperation with the University of Bonn. Jens Maiero looks into the challenges of human-machine-interaction in dynamically projected environments (Spatial Augmented Reality). Thorsten Roth tries to solve problems in global illumination algorithms by iteratively incorporating light field measurements into the Monte-Carlo-based rendering process, including post-processing techniques.


Jessica Millberg won AFCEA Studienpreis award

Jessica Millberg won second in the AFCEA Studienpreis awards for her Master thesis on markerless model-based real-time tracking for AR-applications (German title: Markerloses Modellbasiertes Echtzeit-Tracking für AR-Applikationen).

The prize will be granted at the Koblenzer IT-Tagung 2013, a conference in Koblenz on 29 August 2013 in the Rhein-Mosel-Halle which more than 400 participants visit each year.

Her work was supervised by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rainer Herpers (Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University, department of computer science).


Right to award doctorates with University of Siegen

Prof. Dr. Rainer Herpers and Prof. Dr. André Hinkenjann, both from Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University and directors of the Institute of Visual Computing, have been granted the right to supervise and appraise doctoral studies at the University of Siegen’s Faculty of Natural Sciences and Engineering.


Ken Kent appointed honorary professor

Prof. Kenneth Kent from our Cannadian partner university, the University of New Brunswick (UNB), was appointed honorary professor at Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University (BRSU). Since many years he spends several weeks at BRSU teaching and doing reasearch. Now Prof. Kent is an official member of the department of Computer Science and also of the Institute of Visual Computing.

Best Paper award for Jessica Millberg

Jessica Millberg’s Master Thesis on “Markerless Model-based Real-time Tracking for Augmented Reality Applications” won third place at this year’s best paper award of the “Gesellschaft für Informatik”‘s “Informatik-Tage”.


Paul Plöger appointed Adjunct Professor

Prof. Dr. Paul Plöger has been appointed an Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Computer Science at the University of New Brunswick. His four-year term appointment started on January 1, 2013 and includes School of Graduate Studies privileges.


Best DFF Student Paper Award

Stefan Schuster has been awarded the best DFF Student Paper Award for his paper “System design of an autostereoscopic 3D multiview interaction system”. It was presented at the electronic displays Conference 2013 in Nuremberg. More information can be found here.


Reappointment as Adjunct Professor

The Canadian University of New Brunswick (UNB) has offered Rainer Herpers, Professor for Computer Science at the Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences (BRSU), the reappointment as Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Computer Science. The four-year term reappointment is retroactive to September 2012 and renews his prior appointment as Adjunct Professor at UNB. It includes School of Graduate Studies privileges, consequently complementing his function as founding director of the BRSU Graduate Institute.